Sandy Bay Sailing Club

Site Address:

Long Point Road
SANDY BAY TAS 7005
Postal Address: PO Box 56

Postal Address:

PO Box 56
SANDY BAY TAS 7006

Email:

commodore@sandybaysailingclub.org.au

Website:

www.sbsc.yachting.org.au

Phone:

03 6225 2688 (note phone is often unattended)

Classes sailed:

29er (International Class)
International Cadet (International Class)
Laser (Olympic Class)
Laser 4.7 (International Class)
Laser Radial (Olympic Class)
Open all classes welcome
Optimist (International Class)
Pacer
Sharpie

Facilities:

Boat Storage
Canteen
Clubhouse
Function Centre
Hall Hire
Launching Ramp - cement
Launching Ramp - sand
Member Parking
Rigging - cement
Rigging - lawn
Rigging - Sand
Sailing School
Showers

Activity Days:

Racing each Saturday September to April. Training am, racing pm. Learn to Sail starts in the September Holidays and then on Saturday mornings till March

Club Activities:

Dinghy sailing including training from absolute beginners to elite, interclub, state and national events held each year. Two times host to International Cadet World Championship. Racing is shared with the Dinghy Group from the RYCT.

Open Times:

Saturday 09:00-17:00 during sailing season September to April. We welcome enquiries for training and new members.

Club Information:

SBSC was founded in 1948. The club has always had a focus on international classes. Past sailors include a range of world champions in Int. Cadets, Fireballs and Windsurfer classes. Each year the club sends crews to the Cadet and 420 Worlds.

Other Information:

Sandy Bay Sailing Club provides structured training from beginner to adult elite dinghy sailors. We access the best coaches & provide all our training in International & Olympic classes. Everyone is welcome to participate in this family style club.

 

Officials

Name

Position

Email

 
Angus Sprott Commodore commodore@sandybaysailingclub.org.au 0409 011 448
Lizzi Rountree Head Coach coach@sandybaysailingclub.org.au  
Felicity Allison Vice Commodore tackers@sandybaysailingclub.org.au 0438 279 761
Stuart Hamilton Rear Commodore rearcommodore@sandybaysailingclub.org.au 0418 126 162
Simon Hooper Club Secretary secretary@sandybaysailingclub.org.au  
Jason Wilkie Treasurer treasurer@sandybaysailingclub.org.au  
Ric Buchannan Committee Member ric@sandybaysailingclub.org.au 0409 168 332
Hilary Harris Committee Member membership@sandybaysailingclub.org.au  
Rachel Reid Committee Member   0407 678 999
Bridget Hutton Committee Member    
Matt Groves Committee Member newsletters@sandybaysailingclub.org.au 0408 661 353
Brendan Dwyer Committee Member

bldwyer@bigpond.com

 
Tracey Lord (DSS) Venue Hire functions@dssinc.org.au 03 6223 1977
  Bosun dssbosun@sandybaysailingclub.org.au 0409 011 448
Les Potter Refuelling Officer   0447 574 535


Sponsors

Juicy Isle
Hill Street Grocer

  Harcourts Hobart

Peter Johnston

Derwent Sailing Squadron
Blythe & Watchorn Builders

Blinking Billy - Newsletter Signup

 
 

Promotional Video

Photo Gallery